What have I got to be thankful for?

Nikkie Jay
4 min readDec 16, 2019
Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

I have been very quiet on here, well everywhere, lately. The reason for radio silence is simply that I have had so much to deal with, my brain has been in overload.

But as we near the end of a decade, I thought I would take the time to reflect. You see, 2019 has been awful, truly terrible. However, I don’t want to dwell on the crap that took place.

I am still going through a lot. Finances are non existent, marriage has failed, house is being sold and I have to find somewhere to rent with my children and animals. All in all, it has been stress to the max.

So, what you may say, do I have to be thankful for? Well, for a start, I started writing on medium this year. It has been a slow progress and I don’t make the money that some people make, nowhere near in fact. But, I am writing. I am putting myself out there and I am letting people read my work. Not only that, I am rather proud of my efforts. I have been curated twice, and that was a real boost to the ego.

For years the only people that ever saw my writing were my students in my class, my professors at uni and subsequently my own children. I know I have a talent, I know that what I write is entertaining, funny, sad, scary and adventurous. I have been told by several people that they like my writing.

--

--